Mark Mulcahy/Miracle Legion

Monday, 13th July 2009

Mark MulcaheyThere is a very exciting announcement on the DIS website for all Mark Mulcahy/Miracle Legion fans.  An all-star cast have produced a hulking great tribute album to be release later this year.Miracle Legion didn't emerge from the Eighties the most famous of all the original college rock bands, but even if you've never heard of the Connecticut alt.rockers, you only have to look at the names assembled for new tribute album Ciao My Shining Star to see the on time Rough Trade signatories were something pretty fucking special.From peers like Michael Stipe, Dinosaur Jr and Frank Black to musicians of the next generation - notably Thom Yorke and The National - this collection of new covers, due Sep 14, is basically an indie nerd's dream.It's also for a good cause, being conceived as a tribute to the wife of frontman Mark Mulcahy (pictured), who died suddenly last year. All proceeds go direct to Mulcahy, who is faced with the unenviable task of supporting a young family alone while attempting to maintain a solo career that last yielded fruit with 2005's acclaimed In Pursuit Of Your Happiness.And even if you're some sort of stone hearted person, then DiS can confidently tell you this thing is good; Yorke's 'All For The Best' in particular is everything you'd want it to be, glitchy minimalist melancholy unexpected ripped into by a huge, detuned guitar quite unlike anything off The Eraser - if we're very lucky we'll get it at Latitude.The tracklisting is:

  1. Thom Yorke - 'All for the Best'
  2. The National - 'Ashamed of the Story I Told'
  3. Michael Stipe - 'Everything’s Coming Undone'
  4. David Berkeley - 'Love's the Only Thing That Shuts Me Up'
  5. Dinosaur Jr. - 'The Backyard'
  6. Chris Harford and The Band Of Changes - 'Micon the Icon'
  7. Frank Black - 'Bill Jocko'
  8. Vic Chesnutt - 'Little Man'
  9. Unbelievable Truth - 'Ciao My Shining Star'
  10. Butterflies of Love - 'I Have Patience'
  11. Chris Collingwood of Fountains of Wayne - 'Cookie Jar'
  12. Frank Turner - 'The Quiet One'
  13. Rocket From the Tombs - 'In Pursuit of Your Happiness'
  14. Ben Kweller - 'Wake Up Whispering'
  15. Josh Rouse - 'I Woke Up in the Mayflower'
  16. Autumn Defense - 'Paradise'
  17. Hayden - 'Happy Birthday Yesterday'
  18. Juliana Hatfield - 'We're Not in Charleston Anymore'
  19. Mercury Rev - 'Sailors and Animals'
  20. Elvis Perkins - 'She Watches Over Me'
  21. Sean Watkins - 'A World Away From This One'
There'll also be a further 20 tracks from the likes of AC Newman and Laura Veirs made available digitally.